Inviting You to a Remembrance Gathering, by phone, 11/1/2015

by dena on October 28, 2015

 

I am hosting another Remembrance Gathering by telephone. Would you like to honor one or more loved ones who are in spirit? You are welcome to join me this Sunday, November 1st, 2015, for one hour. (Please see time, below. In some places, it will be early Monday morning.)

rp_Remembrance-Gatheringby-telephone-150x150.jpg

In 1996 through 2008, I referred to these events as community Remembrance Gatherings. Now, I might embrace the expanded possibility of our times by saying these are now for our global community.

A global community Remembrance Gathering is an opportunity for people to come together in  honor of those who have died, whether their passing occurred recently or long ago. People and companion creatures can be grieved and acknowledged. Whether your losses may have occurred in your lifetime or you might be bowing to ancestors of generations ago, you are welcome to join me on this telephone call.

 

What happens during a group telephone Remembrance Gathering?

During our time together, we may have a guided meditation, an honoring ceremony, and a brief sharing from those who wish to say something of their beloveds.

If you like, you might have photographs or other mementos near you during the call.

I always light a few candles and set up some photos in a quiet place in my home, where I will be on the call. Even over the telephone, we are able to create sacred space together.

In a previous home, I sat in my upper hallway during one of the calls. One wall I called my ancestor wall. It was filled with pictures of precious family members and friends, many now in spirit. I brought candles, funeral cards, and a few more photos. My cat companion, Poppy, sat with me during that Remembrance Gathering call.

ancestor wall #1, 2012_7 003

For other details about previous community Remembrance Gatherings, please visit Remembering & Honoring Lost Loved Ones. Another related post is about the service my family held four months after my mama’s death, Remembrance Gathering: A Memorial Service for My Mother.

 

How to register for the call

To register, please email me at denaclayton1111@gmail.com, with “Registering for 11/1 call” in the subject line. Include your name and the country and nearest city where you will be when calling. And your time zone, if you know it. I will email you a call-in phone number for your area and the access code for the call.

The only fee would be long distance costs. Many people have plans on their mobile or landline phones that have unlimited long distance.

 

When is the Remembrance Gathering call?

The call will be on Sunday, November 1st, 2015. The following is a partial list of locations and time zones. If your area is not listed, check The World Clock.

  • 2:00 – 3:00pm, Eastern, U.S.;          11:00am – 12:00noon, Pacific, U.S.;
  • 6:00 – 7:00pm UTC/GMT;
  • 7:00 – 8:00pm United Kingdom/Lisbon, Portugal;
  • 8:00 – 9:00pm France/Netherlands/Poland/Hungary/Italy/Germany/South Africa;
  • 9:00 – 10:00pm Finland/Ukraine/Turkey/Greece/Belarus/Romania/Lithuania;
  • 10:00-11:00pm Moscow
  • Monday, 11/2,  3:00 – 4:00 am, Hong Kong
  • 4:00 – 5:00 am, Brisbane, Australia

 

What do I do when I “arrive” on the call?

Dial in a few minutes before the call, if you can. If you arrive several minutes or more late, please enter silently, as we might be in a quiet discussion or a few moments of silence.

 

Questions?

You are welcome to contact me with questions related to this week’s Remembrance Gathering. Please use the same email address as I listed for registering, denaclayton1111@gmail.com.

 

I am including several photos, to honor the memories of these family members and friends as well as to share a flavor of the photos I have near me whil2015-10-27 20.40.4420151019_002455e I Ward fam pic on Larrys 5th bdayhost the teleph2015-10-27 23.15.11one call.  1 (2)2015-10-27 22.59.06FamPics - GrandmaNettie

2015-10-27 22.41.02

7_14_2013 024

Anna n Ellis Burke anniv pic_maybe 1974

9

Blissings, Dena

Thank you for being here. If this is one of your first visits, please consider subscribing for free email or RSS updates.
If you liked this article, please share its gifts with your friends & family.

0 comments

Previous post:

Next post: